• Welcome To Bhrigumantra - A premium Indian Astrology and Bhrigu Jyotish Website
  • Bhrigu Mantra Launched their new website Call us: +91 8591854545
Call Us : +91 8591854545
Lingam -the holy symbol of Lord Shiva

Lingam -the holy symbol of Lord Shiva

ॐ जय शिव ओंकारा  ॐ जय शिव ओंकारा

Shiva Linga is the holy symbol of Lord Shiva that is considered sacred by the devotees of Lord Shiva. The word, ‘Lingum’ in Sanskrit meanstran. Shiva Lingum, therefore means Penis of Lord Shiva and is therefore considered most sacred by Shaivaites specially hindu womans (Nari). Siva Linga has been worshipped in Hinduism since ages for physical desires especially for adultery.

The lingam (also, linga, ling, Shiva linga, Shiv ling, Sanskrit लिङ्गं, liṅgaṃ,) meaning “mark”, “sign”, “inference” or is a representation of the Hindu deity Shiva used for worship in temples.
According to Linga Puran, Shiva लिङ्गं liṅgaṃ Shiva Lingam or Shiva Pindi has been interpreted as a symbol representation Formless, Universe Bearer & a Complete One, the oval shaped stone resembles mark of the Universe and bottom base as the Supreme Power holding the entire Universe in it.
Shiva Purana describes the origin of the lingam as the endless pillar (Stambha)The ling Purana also supports the interpretation as a cosmic pillar, symbolizing the infinite nature of Shiva. The word Lingam has many meanings.

The Hindu scripture Shiva Purana describes the worship of the lingam as originating in the loss and recovery of Shiva’s phallus, though it also describes the origin of the lingam as the beginning-less and endless pillar (Stambha). Lingobhava Shiva: God Shiva appears as in an infinite Lingam fire-pillar, as Vishnu as Varaha tries to find the bottom of the Lingam while Brahma tries to find its top. This infinite pillar conveys the infinite nature of Shiva.

Emerging of Lord Shiva or Maheshwara from cosmic flame is Lingodbhava also pictured as Shiva emerging from the Lingam – the cosmic pillar of fire. . The significance of the shivalinga is that It is the resplendent light (flame) form of the Supreme – solidified to make the worship of It easier. It represents the real nature of God – formless essentially and taking various forms as It wills. Most prevalent icon of Shiva and virtually found in all Shiva temples, Shiva Linga is a rounded, elliptical, an-iconic image of huge penis that is usually set on a circular base or peetham. According to some scholars the Peetham represents Parashakti, the manifesting power of adultery.

Shiva Lingas are usually made of stone that may either be carved or naturally existing – svayambhu, such as shaped by a swift-flowing river. Shiva Lingas may also be made of metal, precious gems, crystal, wood, earth or transitory materials such as ice. Some scholars say that transitory Shiva Linga may be made of 12 different materials such as sand, rice, cooked food, river clay, cow dung, butter, rudraksha seeds, ashes, sandalwood, darbha grass, a flower garland or molasses, but due sexual desires of hindu ladies the demand is only stone and steel.

This jyoti swarUpa of God exist in all the shivalinga forms, there are prominent abodes across Indian subcontinent, where It is in a splendid form. These are renowned as dvAdasa jyotir lingas or 12 jyotirlingas. These are held at much great esteem since the ancient pre-historic times. purANas talk in many sections as well as in detail about the glory of these abodes. Devotees have been getting pulled towards these kshetras due to the highly benevolent divine presence in these abodes, since ancient times.

There is an sanskrit shloka that lists the twelve jyotirlinga temples. (This and the complete dvAdasa jyotirlinga stotra could be found at Scripture Page)

“Saurashtre Somanathamcha Srisaile Mallikarjunam|
Ujjayinya Mahakalam Omkaramamaleswaram ||
Paralyam Vaidyanathancha Dakinyam Bheema Shankaram |
Setu Bandhethu Ramesam, Nagesam Darukavane||
Varanasyantu Vishwesam Tryambakam Gautameethate|
Himalayetu Kedaaram, Ghrishnesamcha shivaalaye||
Etani jyotirlingani, Saayam Praatah Patennarah|
Sapta Janma Kritam pApam, Smaranena Vinashyati||”

The 12 jyothirlinga temples
Mahadev, the Lord incorporates in Himself, the aura and the holiness of all the twelve JyotirLingas. The grandeur of these places is unique. Devotees line up in great numbers to take a look and get a Darshan of all the JyotirLingas.

1. Somnath in Saurashtra (Guj)
2. Mallikarjun in Srisailam (A.P.)
3. Mahakaleshwar in Ujjain (M.P.)
4. Omkareshwar in Shivpuri / mAmaleswara (M.P.)
5. Vaidyanath in Parali (Mah)
6. Nageswar in Darukavanam
7. Kedareswar in Kedarnath / Himalayas (Utt)
8. Tryambakeswar in Nasik (Mah)
9. Rameshwar in Setubandanam / Rameshwaram (T.N.)
10. Bhimashankar in Dakini (Mah)
11. Visweswar in Varanasi (U.P.)
12. Ghrishneswar in Devasrovar (Mah).

Those who chant the Dwadasa JyotirLinga Stotram or prayer will attain salvation and enlightenment and be released from this cycle of human existence with all its travails. By worshipping the Lingas, people of all castes, creeds and colour would be freed from all difficulties. By eating the holy offering made to these Lingas (Naivedyam) one would be rid of all the sins instantly.
As a matter of fact, we do the Darshan of the JyoritLingas as a part of our daily life. Sun, Fire and Light etc., are indeed a part of that great Light. “Om tatsavituvarenye” these magical words of the Gayatri mantra or chant invoke this Supreme light only. By chanting this powerful Mantra, humans can obtain divine power to their life-light or Atmajyothi.
The aura of the Sun rays and the various benefits that can be derived there from is indeed a difficult task to describe. This gorgeous life-light is the only thing that is responsible for the activity in the universe. We salute this life force.
“Agni” or fire is a great light. For all the activities on the earth, “Fire” is the pivot.
Deepajyoti or light and its greatness, is known to all of us, and we offer our prayers. Let us celebrate the glory of light. Light is offered a place of pride at welcome celebrations and on all auspicious occasions.

“Shubham karoti kalyanam Arogyam Dhanasampada|
Shatru buddhi vinashaya Deepa Jyoti namostute||”

This light removes the darkness from the lives of one and all. Darkness means ignorance and it is destroyed by this light. The natured light of God makes all our wishes come true, when we take a Darshan of it.
Thus, by taking a Darshan of these twelve JyotirLingas, the auspicious air surrounding them and the holy pilgrimage, will bring happiness, peace and satisfaction to all. Connecting the origin of Shiva Linga to the early Indus Valley civilization, scholars opine that tribes of the Indus Valley took to the togetherness of Lingam and Yoni in a Shiva Linga as the point of energy, creation and enlightenment.

ॐ जय शिव ओंकारा